Cristóbal Edwards joined the Lacava Design team as a media consultant, specializing in content analysis and newsroom organization. He has worked with such major Chilean media companies as Canal 13, El Mercurio, La Tercera, and El Día, as well as Peru’s El Comercio.

Edwards was news correspondent in Chile for TIME magazine from 1998 to 2007. He has also worked as writer and photographer for such media companies as BBC News, National Post (Toronto), Newsday (Long Island, New York), The San Francisco Chronicle and The Sunday Times (London).

He teaches investigative reporting and visual journalism at Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile’s (UC) School of Journalism. He has a B.A. in journalism from UC and a Master of Science in Journalism from Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA. He is also art director of a student quarterly.

He was the Society for News Design’s director for South American from 2002 to 2006, and is currently an SND Foundation trustee and assistant to the organization of SND’s annual exhibition and workshop in Buenos Aires, Argentina, in 2009. He has given many presentations and workshops about visual journalism. Since 2005 he writes the Spanish version of SND’s Best of Newspaper Design book and contributes to Design magazine.

He is fluent in English and Spanish, and has a good command of French, German, Italian and Portuguese.

He can be reached at cristobal@lacavadesign.ca
  cristobal

Cristóbal Edwards, de Santiago au Chili, s'est joint à l'équipe de Lacava Design en tant que consultant en médias, spécialisé en analyse de contenu et en gestion de la salle de rédaction. Il a travaillé notamment pour d’importantes publications chiliennes importantes telles que Canal 13, El Mercurio, La Tercera et El Día, de même que El Comercio au Pérou.

Correspondant au Chili pour Time Magazine entre 1998 et 2007, Cristóbal a aussi travaillé comme reporteur et photographe indépendant pour la BBC News, le National Post (Toronto), Newsday (Long Island, New York), The San Francisco Chronicle et The Sunday Times (Londres).

Il est aussi professeur de journalisme visuel et journalisme d'enquête à l'école de journalisme de l'Universidad Católica de Chile. Il a obtenu son Baccalauréat en journalisme de cette école et a complété sa Maîtrise en journalisme à la Northwestern University, à Evanston, en Illinois aux États-Unis. Il est aussi directeur artistique d’une magazine bimensuelle pour étudiants.

Directeur de la Society for News Design en Amérique du Sud de 2002 à 2006, il est actuellement membre de la Fondation de la SND. Il a contribué à l’organisation de la réunion annuelle internationale de la SND à Buenos Aires en 2009. Dans le cadre de ce rôle donne souvent des ateliers sur journalisme visuel. Depuis 2005 il écrit la version en espagnol du livre The Best of Newspaper Design de la SND et est contributeur de magazine Design.

Ses photographies ont fait l’objet d’expositions  au Chile et en Norvge, et ont été publiées dans maints journaux et magazines intrenationaux. Cristóbal parle couramment l'espagnol et l'anglais, et maîtrise bien l'allemand, le français, l'italien et le portugais.

On peut le contacter à cristobal@lacavadesign.ca

  cristobal